RCB Clinches Maiden Women’s Premier League Title, Defeats Delhi Capitals

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) secured their first-ever Women’s Premier League (WPL) title with a commanding eight-wicket triumph over the Delhi Capitals in the final match held in Delhi.

The Delhi Capitals, initially off to a promising start at 64-0, faltered dramatically, collapsing to 87-7 before being bundled out for 113 runs in the 19th over, courtesy of Shreyanka Patil’s remarkable 4-12 bowling performance.

While RCB faced some hurdles during their chase of 114, Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry’s unbeaten 35 steered them to victory with three balls to spare.

This victory marks a significant milestone for RCB’s franchise owners, as the team secures its maiden title in the WPL, contrasting the men’s team’s Indian Premier League (IPL) runner-up status on three occasions.

Dominant Spin Bowling by RCB Dismantles Delhi’s Batting Line-Up

The Delhi Capitals, led by former Australian captain Meg Lanning, showcased a strong start after winning the toss, with opener Shafali Verma’s aggressive play leading to a formidable 61-0 powerplay score.

However, RCB’s Sophie Molineux turned the tide by claiming three wickets in four balls during the eighth over. Verma’s dismissal triggered a collapse, as Jemimah Rodrigues and Alice Capsey followed suit, succumbing to Molineux’s skillful bowling.

RCB’s spinners continued to dominate, with Shreyanka Patil and Asha Sobhana further denting Delhi’s innings. Patil’s precision dismissed Lanning, while Sobhana accounted for Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonassen in quick succession.

RCB’s chase saw moments of tension, particularly when Devine fell lbw to Shikha Pandey. However, Perry’s composed batting, supported by captain Smriti Mandhana, steered RCB towards victory.

Though RCB faced a slight stall after Mandhana’s dismissal, Richa Ghosh’s boundary off the final over sealed their triumph, marking a historic win in the WPL.